Tags

, , , , ,

full_atlantisrising

Blurb: From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders, Percy Jackson and the Olympians and, of course, T. A. Barron’s Merlin Saga.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their land — and each other — no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy, master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis.

I am a huge fan of King Arthur. I have read dozens of books and many more short stories about King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. But I have a confession to make: I still have not read any of the Merlin Saga by T.A. Barron. It is a shameful secret, I know, and one I hope to correct soon. When I was approached with the chance to review the first two books in his new Atlantis series, I knew that I had to agree. What better way to make up for this shortcoming than by reading and reviewing his new series? Besides, I had just learned, through reading the letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, that Tolkien was partially inspired by the Atlantis legend. It was perfect timing to dive into an Atlantis series so I took the plunge.

I was not disappointed.

The main character, Promi, is memorable and is exactly the sort of person you can’t help but to cheer for. He finds himself wrapped up the web of an ominous prophecy that predicts the end of all magic which, in Atlantis, would mean a drastic change for everyone there. Why? Because magic is tailored in to many aspects of Ellegandia, including the boots that Promi wears (they magically adjust to the size of his feet). I love the imagined setting of Ellegandia – the diverse people and creatures that live in or around Ellegandia and the elements of magic woven into it. The Listener magic is an interesting system that is central to the events of the story and it creates some intriguing sacrifices and situations for Promi. The supporting cast of characters is wonderful and the nature surrounding Ellegandia, home of fascinating magical creatures and Promi’s friend, Atlanta, captures the imagination.

I can’t say enough good things without spoiling the essence of the book. It is written for Middle-Grade/Young Adult readers which makes this a fast-paced page-turner of a book. This is a perfect read for anyone who enjoys magic, fairies, tales of prophecy, moments of daring and swashbuckling adventure, sweet food and journal entries, the Atlantis mystery/mythology, or nature. This was a great read and I can enthusiastically recommend this one to just about everyone that I know and will do so in the future.

Also, from August 14th-23rd I will be featuring a giveaway on this website for a copy of this book, as well as its sequel. So make sure to come back around that time to enter for a chance to win a free copy of two great books.

Final Verdict: You should read this book! You won’t regret it.

A free copy of this book was provided by Goodman Media International, Inc. in exchange for an honest review of the book. The opinons stated above are my own and were not in any way influenced by any outside parties.